Mens Bowls

Mens Bowls at Hat Head Bowling Club

The club opened in September 1963 one of the license provisions required for a sports club so it was decided to have lawn bowls. The club started with one green, the second green was opened in 1982.

We host three major tournaments are held every year being: -

  • The Don Wallace Fours held in the first week in August
  • The Hat Head Triples held in mid September
  • Mixed Pairs held in November

These tournaments attract many top bowlers from around the state and interstate.

Hat Head Bowling Club has produced many fine bowlers over the years...

  • Shannon Gittoes - Queensland state representative and winner of the Queensland state pairs¬† along with winning many prestigious tournaments throughout Queensland and New South Wales
  • Neil Styles - winner of many major tournaments, club championships and was the skip, coach and sole selector of our first ever winning pennant team (no. 5's) in 1990
  • Ian Rocky Stone - started bowls at Hat Head and was a state rep. and winner of many tournaments
  • Trevor Gittoes - winner of the district and zone state presidents singles and pairs and played in the state finals and also winner of many club championships and major tournaments
  • Wayne Buckley - a fine bowler winning many club championships and numerous major tournaments and also won the district and zone singles and played in the state finals
  • David Croad - our greenkeeper represented the state in the Greenkeepers Australian championships and winner of many club championships

We have a proud record in district zone and state pennants (one state, five zone and nine district pennants)

  • 1990 #5 pennant (the first district pennant)
  • 1995 #7 district, zone ,group and state pennants
  • 1996 #6 district and zone pennants
  • 1997 #5 district and zone pennants
  • 1999 #4 district and zone pennants
  • 2000 #3 district and zone pennants
  • 2005 #3 district pennant
  • 2007 #3 district pennant
  • 2013 #3 district pennant